• January 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

  • Categories

I Heart Cooking Clubs: Nigella’s Caramel Croissant Pudding

A double batch of Caramel Croissant Pudding

This week’s theme at   I Heart Cooking Clubs   is Resolutions.

One of my Culinary Resolutions is to be more thrifty!

Nigella believes that some of the best recipes come from the thrifty refusal to throw anything away.  This dish is best when made with croissants that are a few days old.  You know, the ones you might have thrown away, because really what can you do with 2 stale croissants?   CARAMEL CROISSANT PUDDING … thats what!

All ready to make Caramel Croissant Pudding.

Ingredients

  • 2 stale croissants  (I would use 3 large croissants.)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream   (Room temperature a must!)
  • 2 tablespoons bourbon   (I used Frangelico Liqueur)
  • 1/2 cup whole milk   (Room temperature a must!)
  • 2 eggs, beaten    (Room temperature is best.)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Tear the croissants into bite size pieces and put in a small 2 cup capacity baking dish.  Nigella used an oval cast iron pan.   (I made a double batch and used a quart size Rachael Ray baking dish … hope Nigella is ok with that!)

Put the sugar and water into your saucepan.  Swirl around to help dissolve the sugar before putting the saucepan on the stove over medium to high heat. Caramelize the sugar and water mixture.  Let it bubble away until it reaches a deep amber colour; this will take 3 to 5 minutes.  (I used medium-high heat and it took longer than 3 to 5 minutes.  Watch it closely.)

Take the pan off the heat and add the cream – ignoring all spluttering – followed by the bourbon and milk. Whisk to mix, then still whisking add the beaten eggs. Pour this quickly over the croissants and leave to steep for 10 minutes. 
IMPORTANT NOTE:   Stream in the cream very slowly while you whisk.  Do the same with the bourbon and milk.

Place in the preheated oven for 20 minutes and prepare to swoon.  (I made a double batch and it baked about 30 minutes.   When making a single recipe I would check and make sure it is set to your liking … if not bake a bit longer.)

Nigella's Caramel Croissant Pudding is outstanding. It is not overly sweet and I find that very appealing. Next time I may sprinkle my croissants with a bit of cinnamon for some additional flavor.

6 Responses

  1. This is wonderful !!! I love your resolution !!!

  2. Oh wow this is truly amazing looking!! I have a book by Nigella and have yet to use it… Unfortunately a lot of her recipes involve alcohol, and me being only 16… well it doesn’t work out so well. But it still looks fantastic!

  3. Yay! This is my kind of resolution! I don’t throw anything away either and using up what we have is the very best way to cook. Wonderful pick. There’s some left for me, right? ;-)

  4. I made this last year and it really was delicious. I added a few mini chocolate for an extra oomph!

  5. Looks delicious and I love your whipped cream towers! ;-)

  6. The caramel croissant pudding sounds delicious and I love your blue bubble and brown casserole!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

