• February 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
  • Archives

  • Categories

Daring Bakers: Chocolate Valentino

chocolate-valentino-slice1
The February 2009 challenge is hosted by Wendy of WMPE’s blog and Dharm of Dad ~ Baker & Chef.
We have chosen a Chocolate Valentino cake by Chef Wan; a Vanilla Ice Cream recipe from Dharm and a Vanilla Ice Cream recipe from Wendy as the challenge.

This certainly is a month of “firsts” as this is my rookie showing as a Daring Baker!

I openly admit I was a bit intimidated with this recipe of only 3 ingredients.  

Chocolate:   I used 50% bittersweet and 50% semi-sweet.
       Butter:    Next time I will use a much better quality of butter.
         Eggs:    Used farm fresh eggs purchased from the local “egg lady”

A flourless chocolate cake has been on my “gotta try it some day” list for quite a long time.   But any recipe that includes the words “whip the egg whites” throws me for a loop.   So thank you Dharm and Wendy for helping me overcome my “whip the egg whites” phobia!   I did make use of the video demonstration site you suggested.  My batter turned out fine … but I wonder if I might have over-whipped the egg whites.  Instead of a nice ribbon of egg whites being folded into the chocolate mixture (like I saw in the video) … mine kind of separated onto little “chunks”.  I expected my cake to be a bit “taller” … maybe having to take longer to fold the “chunks” of egg white into the chocolate mixture contributed to deflating my batter a bit.

I used an 8 inch heart shaped pan purchased especially for this baking occasion.  At twenty minutes into the baking cycle I tested my cake with an instant read thermometer and it had already hit 145F.   Darn … should have checked it at 15 to 18 minutes.  (Hind sight is 20/20.) 

chocolate-valentino-in-pan

 NOTICE  THE  HOLE IN THE MIDDLE OF MY HEART!
I had to laugh when I realized that the instant read thermometer left a permanent scar.

chocolate-valentino-in-pan2

Step 10 reads:  Cool cake on a rack for 10 minutes then unmold.   Yes, it was that easy!   I ended up with a perfectly shaped heart cake.

chocolate-valentino-unmolded

 You can visit Wendy or Dharm and get the recipe for this great Chocolate Valentino cake.

chocolate-valentino-the-end

 

5 Responses

  1. Great job on your Daring Bakers. I like the cherry on top! Your cake looks perfect.

  2. The red really pops against the chocolate…looks fabulous. Congrats on your first challenge and welcome to DB!

  3. Your cake looks lovely, right down to the cherry on top!
    Welcome to the Daring Bakers.
    This February challenge completed my first year, so I can tell you there is much fun ahead being part of this group.

  4. Welcome to the Daring Bakers. Your cake looks very yummy. I have seen that “stab wound” on a number of sites. 😉

  5. Another newbie Daring Baker here. Great job!

Leave a Reply

