• March 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Archives

  • Categories

Barefoot Bloggers Bonus Recipe Double-Header: Sauteed Broccolini side dish and Brownie Pudding dessert

Sauteed Broccolini

Sauteed Broccolini

Mary of  Meet me in the Kitchen  chose Sauteed Broccolini as a Barefoot Blogger Bonus Recipe for this month.   My local Price Chopper and Hy Vee grocery stores did not stock broccolini.   It was Whole Foods who finally came thru for me … they had a few bunches.    I was told to “hurry and get here because when people see it they usually buy it all”.    (Yeah, like I believed that.)  But in the end, it was my mother and me that  bought all they had! 

The recipe is very straight forward and easy to follow.   I tend to wonder if the 2 minute blanching process followed by the ice bath is truly necessary.  Could I achieve the same results by increasing the sautee time?  The butter, lemon and garlic sauce went well with this vegetable.

 

Brownie Pudding

Brownie Pudding

I hope Ina G. will not be upset that I made her Brownie Pudding in a Rachael R. pan!

Tia of Southern, Eh? tasked us to make this divine dessert. 

I chose to make only half the recipe.  It was a perfect fit in my new one quart, oval dish.   I adjusted the baking time to 30 minutes. 

This also is a very easy recipe to follow.   Even though I read the recipe thru several times over the last few weeks (yes, and right before I made it) and knew about baking in a water bath … I forgot.   (Whew .. it turned out OK so I could come clean about my lapse in memory.)   It wasn’t until 20 minutes into baking that I remembered the water bath.    With only 10 minutes to go, I decided to take my chances.  I am pleased to say that the top crackled when I dipped out the first serving and the center was exactly as other have described  it  … pudding like.   This dessert is best described as “less-than-pretty”.   But, what it lacks in beauty, it more than makes up for it in taste!  Dust it with a little powder and it’s good to go …

Ready to eat!

Ready to eat!

2 Responses

  1. Yummy! I tried Hy-Vee and Price Chopper too (which means that you’re probably a midwesterner too!) and they didn’t have it. Oh well.
    ~Delta Whiskey
    PS: I won’t tell the Contessa that you used a Rachael Ray dish. I promise.

  2. The broccolini dish is fantastic! I cheated and used broccoli, and made it dairy-free, but it was still delicious. I blogged about it for Taste & Create. Thanks for the great recipe! – http://www.onefrugalfoodie.com/2009/04/13/taste-create-sauteed-lemon-garlic-broccolini/

Leave a Reply

