• July 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives

  • Categories

Daring Bakers: Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Cookies

Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Cookies

Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Cookies

A look at the inside!

A peek at the inside!

 The July Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Nicole at Sweet Tooth.  She chose Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Cookies and Milan Cookies from pastry chef Gale Gand of the Food Network.

 My Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Cookie experience:

If you are like me,  you sit down and read the recipe you are about to attempt a few times to make sure you have a clear picture of exactly what it entails.   Now we know from experience that the written word in a recipe does not always translate into what can be referred to as …  “baking reality”. 

For example this recipe says:  Makes about 2 dozen cookies.  Liar … Liar … pants on fire!  They would have to be the size of saucers … cause I got 107 cookies using the recommended 1 and 1/2 inch cookie cutter. 

Next is the part I just love …  Pipe a “kiss” of marshmallow onto each cookie.   Sounds so easy.   Well, by the time I was done, I had “kissed” just about everything in my kitchen.   Thank goodness the boys (my cats Wally and Truman) were napping and not underfoot … otherwise they too would have received a dreaded marshmallow smooch.  I proved to be quite dangerous with a loaded piping bag.

Here’s another one … transfer to a pastry bag.  Makes it sound like it magically happens all nice and neat.  What it really means is you’ll be up to your elbows in marshmallow by the time you get it into the bag! 

So I guess the old saying “Don’t believe everything you read” is so true … even in baking!

Cookies "kissed" with marshmallow.

Cookies "kissed" with marshmallow. The cookies bake up to be very crisp ... but I swear they plump up and soften once you pipe the marshmallow onto them. Ready to be dipped!

 Mallows   (Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Cookies)
Recipe courtesy Gale Gand, from Food Network website
Makes about 2 dozen cookies  (OK … someone really got this wrong cause I got 107 cookies!)

• 3 cups (375grams/13.23oz) all purpose flour
• 1/2 cup (112.5grams/3.97oz) white sugar
• 1/2 teaspoon salt
• 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
• 3/8 teaspoon baking soda
• 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon  ( I only used 1/4 teaspoon as I did not want a noticeable cinnamon flavor)
• 12 tablespoons (170grams/ 6 oz) unsalted butter  (room temperature)
• 3 eggs, whisked together
• Homemade marshmallows, recipe follows
• Chocolate glaze, recipe follows

1. In a mixer with the paddle attachment, blend the dry ingredients.
2. On low speed, add the butter and mix until sandy.
3. Add the eggs and mix until combine.  (The dough comes together nicely.)
4. Form the dough into a disk, wrap with clingfilm or parchment and refrigerate at least 1 hour and up to 3 days.  (I divided my dough in half and formed 2 disks.  When possible I like working with smaller amounts so the dough does not warm up and become difficult to work with.)
5. When ready to bake, grease a cookie sheet or line it with parchment paper or a silicon mat.  (I used parchment paper with great results.)
6. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.
7. Roll out the dough to 1/8-inch thickness, on a lightly floured surface. Use a 1 to 1  1/2 inches cookie cutter to cut out small rounds of dough.   (I used a 1 and 1/2 inch round cookie cutter.)
8. Transfer to the prepared pan and bake for 10 minutes or until light golden brown.  (I baked for 9 minutes.)  Let cool to room temperature.
9. Pipe a “kiss” of marshmallow onto each cookie.   Let set at room temperature for 2 hours.
10. Line a cookie sheet with parchment or silicon mat.
11. One at a time, gently drop the marshmallow-topped cookies into the hot chocolate glaze.
12. Lift out with a fork and let excess chocolate drip back into the bowl.
13. Place on the prepared pan and let set at room temperature until the coating is firm, about 1 to 2 hours.

Homemade marshmallows:
• 1/4 cup water
• 1/4 cup light corn syrup
• 3/4 cup (168.76 grams/5.95oz) sugar
• 1 tablespoon powdered gelatin
• 2 tablespoons cold water
• 2 egg whites , room temperature
• 1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1. In a saucepan, combine the water, corn syrup, and sugar, bring to a boil until “soft-ball” stage, or 235 degrees on a candy thermometer.   (I heat to 238 degrees to achieve soft ball.)
2. In a separate bowl, sprinkle the gelatin over the 2 tablespoons cold water and let dissolve.
3. Remove the syrup from the heat, add the gelatin, and mix.
4. In your mixing bowl, whip the whites until soft peaks form and pour the syrup into the whites.  (I use the whisk attachment on my stand mixer.  Once you have the egg whites at the soft peak stage, turn down the mixer speed and slowly add the hot syrup mixture.  Try not to pour directly on the whisk attachement as it can “throw” the hot liquid outside the bowl.)
5. Add the vanilla and continue whipping until stiff.  (I let my mixer go full tilt for about 9 minutes.)
6. Transfer to a pastry bag. 

Chocolate glaze:
• 12 ounces semisweet chocolate
• 2 ounces cocoa butter or vegetable oil   (I did not use cocoa butter or vegetable oil.)

1. Melt the 2 ingredients together in the top of a double boiler or a bowl set over barely simmering water.

Daring Bakers:  Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Cookies

Daring Bakers: Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Cookies

11 Responses

  1. I’ve done marshmallows once before and I know what you mean : my entire kitchen was covered with sugary strands. But then, you got some gorgeous cookies at the end of it (oh well! a lot of cookies, but then I bet they’re all gone) 🙂

  2. Whoa! That’s a big difference in cookies. My grandmother-in-law used to love Pinwheels, which were very similar. She passed away a year ago, but she would have loved these!

  3. Oh, you said you didn’t use cocoa butter or veg oil. Did you just coat them in melted chocolate?

    • Monica … I used “chocolate discs” that I purchased from the Baking store. The chocolat tastes great. Did not add anything to the chocolate and had great results. Debbie

  4. First off, debb,,your cookies are stunning! your Mallows AND Milans looks just like the brand names, but even prettier!

    Now, to answer your question (I emailed you, but got some automated message), they look perfect in the photo because I turned them that way..lol However, they did look amazingly close to authentic Milanos. Unfortunately, I did not take photos of the piping, although now I wish I did, but I will make them again and take some photos soon. Now, here’s what I did..I used 1/2-inch plain tip, held my hands steady, and piped 1 1/2 – 2 inch lines, lifting as I piped to keep them straight. The faster you go, the straighter the lines come out.

    That said, trust me, that sheet had many misshapen cookies, but I got several perfect ones, which I used for the photos, although..as I said, I turned any imperfections to the other side in the paper liner, like a few curves on one side inward or outward, bumps etc. It’ the magic of placement, although, as I said, they were the closest I got to an authentic Milano with those 10 out of like 50 cookies 🙂

    • I am going to give the Milans a try! I was just so unsure as to how to pipe them. I will use the size tip you did and give it a whirl! Maybe I can get some “authentic” looking ones too! Thanks … Debb

  5. Oops..you didn’t make Milans..I had another window open and accidentally thought the Milans were yours!

  6. Lovely cookies! And 107 of them…wow! I wish I could be there to get that number down to 106, or 105, or… 🙂

  7. Yeah, I didn’t fancy the idea of using the pastry bag either. Your cookies look great!

  8. Yours look great. So pretty and perfectly formed. I got about 100 cookies too. I used packaged marshmallows and cut them in half. I’ve never made marshmallows and have been meaning to but I make a big enough mess when I make a peanut butter and fluff sandwich so I knew piping would never go well. I may try the marshmallows in a sheet pan and dust them liberally.

  9. I came to your post via a search for marshmallow chocolate covered cookies. I keep wanting to make them but just haven’t gotten around to it it. Your pictures make me want to make them that much more – nice job. And I totally agree – recipes can often leave out a lot of personal insight and truth like you found out w/the number of cookies the recipe truly made.

Leave a Reply

